EMCC has two competence frameworks:

1. Coaching/Mentoring

2. Supervision


The purpose of the competence framework is to provide a description of a mentor/coach at four distinct levels of development in order to help mentors/coaches understand their level of development and Training Providers evaluate the effectiveness of their programmes through the mentor/coaching performance of their students. The competence indicators are examples of behaviours or principles of the coaching profession that meet the eight competence categories. The competence framework also provides an assessment tool that allows an experienced assessor to:

  1. Evaluate the behaviours of a mentor/coach
  2. Categorise the level that the mentor/coach is operating at (EIA Level Descriptors)
  3. Categorise the level of mentor/coach training (EQA Level Descriptors).

This framework details the eight competences identified by the EMCC for good practice in mentoring and coaching. These competences are supported by capability indicators (CIs). It should be noted that CIs are only intended as guidance. It is not to be considered absolutely necessary to address every CI in an accreditation application.

The progression principles used are: at each ‘higher’ level, the CIs should describe greater breadth and depth of knowledge; greater synthesis of ideas; ability to evoke more significant insights; working effectively with increasingly complex issues and contexts, and, at the higher levels, the creation of a coherent personal approach to mentoring/coaching.


EMCC Global has a framework for supervision which has evolved based on research and feedback over the years, the full version of which can be downloaded here. It contains eight core competences, as described below:


  1. Manages the Supervision Contract and Process

The Functions of Supervision

  1. Facilitates Development
  2. Provides support
  3. Promotes Professional Standards

The Capacity of the Supervisor

  1. Self-Awareness
  2. Relationship Awareness
  3. Systemic Awareness

Working with Groups

  1. Facilitates Group Supervision

These competence headings are supported by about 40 behavioural indicators. It is not expected that every supervisor should exhibit each one of these, or treat them as a checklist. Rather, they are intended to stimulate awareness and promote understanding.